Belated Thanksgiving

Have you ever had one of those moments that truly make you feel blessed for the life you have?

I was at university yesterday casually scrolling through the new ipad mini I got for Christmas last month when I noticed a janitor sweeping leaves nearby. After a few minutes he approached me and politely asked if I could explain what the ipad was. Once I told him its basic features he said his son has been nagging for one for months and that he’s been saving up to get it for him. He then asked how much I got it for and I told him it’s worth a couple of hundred American dollars. He looked at me in disbelief and said he thought it was 50 dollars. Crushed, he thanked me for my time and walked away. In that moment it hit me how fortunate I was. This man had been struggling for months hoping to get an ipad for his son only to have reality slap him in the face in a matter of seconds, and just a few weeks ago when I received the ipad I was contemplating exchanging it for one with a larger capacity. Shame on me. I may be 10 months early for Thanksgiving but is it too late for a New Year’s Resolution?

Note to self: Be thankful for what you have instead of focusing on what you don’t have.

Leave a Reply

