Forgive Don’t Forget

Over a year ago I lost immediate contact with someone I considered one of my closest high school friends. There was no particular reason for it really, we just drifted apart and although I made an effort to stay in touch I didn’t feel there was mutual interest in saving the friendship. I was hurt and carried much resentment for a long time because I couldn’t fathom the idea of how quickly things could change. She moved to Canada a few months ago and all hope was lost, not because there was more distance between us but because I finally accepted that things could never go back to how they once were.

I woke up to a message from her yesterday saying how much she missed our friendship and taking blame for its collapse. I was surprised to hear from her yet appreciated the fact that she’d reached out and apologized. It was the first time she had acknowledged what had happened. Better late than never, right?

I’m a big believer that travel can change someone, makes them realize what truly matters and shapes them into a better person. I guess moving to Canada had that effect on her and she was ready to make up and rekindle our friendship. And after such a long time, so was I. We ended up exchanging numbers and have been messaging since. I can’t tell you how relieved I was to be able to put it behind me; holding grudges drains you and I feel like a massive weight was lifted from my shoulders once I was able to release all my bottled up emotions. I’m not saying all is forgotten and things are magically resolved, my mother always taught me to forgive but not forget. What I can say though is that I’m mature enough to accept that people make mistakes, and wise enough to know that forgiveness is worth much more than lifelong grudges.

Leave a Reply

